The Torque Index
How much force feedback torque do you actually need for sim racing? Roughly 5–8 Nm is enough for almost everyone. Torque is headroom against clipping, not detail — detail comes from encoder resolution, cogging behaviour, slew rate and filtering, which is why a well-tuned 8 Nm base can out-inform a badly tuned 20 Nm one. Entry direct-drive bases (approx 3.9–9 Nm) already sit at or above the steering loads of a real power-steered GT car on many corners, and most owners of flagship 20 Nm+ bases run them at 60–80% strength. The number that limits most setups is not the motor's — it is the mount's: a solid desk clamp holds roughly 5–8 Nm and a tubular-steel stand about 12 Nm before flex starts filtering away the detail you paid for. The Torque Index below puts every wheelbase this site covers in one table: drive type, the torque figure the manufacturer actually states (peak vs holding noted where they say), rotation range, and platform compatibility — with the manufacturer source cited on every row, and a cell left unstated rather than filled with a community estimate.
The index
| Model | Drive type | Mfr-stated torque | Rotation range | PC / console |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Logitech G920 / G29 Driving Force | Gear (helical, anti-backlash) | 2.3 Nm (mfr-stated; not labelled peak or holding) | 900° lock-to-lock | G29: PlayStation + PC · G920: Xbox + PC |
| Thrustmaster T300 RS GT Edition | Belt (dual-belt, brushless motor) | Not stated by manufacturer | Up to 1080° | PlayStation + PC |
| Thrustmaster T248 | Hybrid (belt + gear stage) | Not stated by manufacturer ("up to 70% more power than T150") | Not stated on product page | PlayStation 5 / 4 + PC |
| Logitech G PRO Racing Wheel | Direct drive (1:1, rim on the motor shaft) | 11 Nm (mfr-stated; not labelled peak or holding) | 1080° maximum angle | PC, PlayStation or Xbox (licence varies by variant) |
Per-row sources
- Logitech G920 / G29 Driving Force: Logitech G — Driving Force product page ("2.3 Nm Racing System"; Rotation: 900 degrees lock-to-lock) (retrieved August 2026)
- Thrustmaster T300 RS GT Edition: Thrustmaster USA eshop — T300RS GT Edition ("1080° force feedback", dual-belt system; no Nm figure published) (retrieved August 2026)
- Thrustmaster T248: Thrustmaster — T248 product page ("Next-gen hybrid drive system"; officially licensed for PS5 and PS4, compatible with PC) (retrieved August 2026)
- Logitech G PRO Racing Wheel: Logitech G — PRO Racing Wheel product page (Torque: 11 Nm; Maximum Angle: 1080°) (retrieved August 2026)
Methodology: peak vs holding torque
Manufacturers are inconsistent about what a Nm figure means. Where a maker distinguishes them, peak torque is a brief maximum the motor can produce and holding (sustained) torque is what it maintains continuously — the sustained figure is the one that describes everyday driving feel. Neither Logitech figure in this index (2.3 Nm and 11 Nm) is labelled peak or holding on the manufacturer's page, and Thrustmaster publishes no Nm figure for the T300 RS GT or T248 at all, so those cells say so rather than borrowing a community estimate. Every figure here is the manufacturer's own published spec, cited per row; approximate community bands for whole drive-type classes live separately in The Sim Racing Force Numbers.
Cite this data: "simgearlab Torque Index, retrieved August 2026" — https://simgearlab.com/torque-index/. Figures are manufacturer-stated specifications, not in-house measurements; unstated cells are marked as such.
Frequently Asked Questions
Roughly 5–8 Nm is enough for almost everyone. Torque is headroom against clipping, not detail — detail comes from encoder resolution, cogging behaviour, slew rate and filtering. Entry direct-drive bases (approx 3.9–9 Nm) already sit at or above real power-steered GT steering loads on many corners, and most flagship owners run their bases at 60–80% strength.
Usually neither is specified. Of the wheelbases in this index, Logitech states plain Nm figures (2.3 Nm and 11 Nm) without labelling them peak or holding, and Thrustmaster publishes no Nm figure at all for the T300 RS GT or T248. Where a manufacturer does distinguish the two, peak torque is a brief maximum and holding (sustained) torque is what the base maintains — the sustained figure is the one that describes everyday driving feel.
Because this index only records figures the manufacturer publishes, each cited on its row. Thrustmaster markets the T248 as having "up to 70% more power than the T150" rather than a Nm rating, so we leave the torque cell unstated instead of repeating a community estimate as if it were official.
Not by itself. A well-tuned 8 Nm base can out-inform a badly tuned 20 Nm one, and torque beyond what your mount can hold is actively wasted: a solid desk clamp holds roughly 5–8 Nm and tubular-steel stands about 12 Nm before flex starts acting as a low-pass filter that deletes the detail you paid for.